23 Students Depart for Harvard Model Congress


La Salle students on the 2013 Harvard Model Congress trip.

Regan Russell, Staff Reporter

23 La Salle juniors and seniors will depart for Boston, Massachusetts for the week of February 16, where they will participate in a United States government simulation, meet new people, and view the beautiful city of Boston.

According to the Harvard Model Congress website, it is “the nation’s oldest government simulation conference run exclusively by undergraduates at Harvard College.”

To prepare for this simulation, the students are given a real person in the U.S. government whom they will represent in this simulation, after having researched them and the issues this person faces daily.

This year, juniors Regan McCabe and Deanna Mische will be among those participating in the 2015 Harvard Model Congress.

“I am most excited to sightsee in Boston and really get a feel for what the city has to offer,” said McCabe.

As part of the exercise, McCabe will be representing Brian Higgins, a Democrat who serves in the House of Representatives, and Mische will be representing John Dingell, also a House Democrat.

“I’m pretty excited to meet new people, and just experience the environment of the House and Senate,” said Mische.

The person in charge of this trip is social studies teacher Mr. Lanaghan, who says “we are in Boston for five nights and six days. The conference itself is four days long but we arrive early to sightsee.”

As part of the sightseeing, students will get to visit all around Boston to places like Fenway Park, home of the Boston Red Sox baseball team; the many shopping malls around the city, the State House, the Tea Party Museum, the Museum of Fine Arts, and more.

The students participating this year include Rose Adkisson, Vina Alexander, Claire Baker, Clarice Beasley, Nathan Bergstrom, Lexi Carbone, Ellie Choate, Jonathan Green, Sean Henson, Rachel Hibbs, Regan McCabe, Deanna Mische, Tyler Nierstedt, Ryan Pate, Gregory Pelton, Jason Rae, Deborah Schmidt, Raleigh Slyman, Payton Thompson, Myriam Yao, and Brady Young.